Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

In today’s world, it is argued that household waste is not sufficiently recycled. Setting rules and obligations is often claimed to be the only way to increase recycling. Although there are arguments on both sides, I completely agree that legal intervention can revolutionize the way we handle recycling waste. This essay will outline the reasons behind my opinion. Owing to the fact that many people are unaware of the consequences of littering, waste is often discarded in landfills or burned forests. This can have a tremendous effect on the environment by causing deforestation and the loss of animal habitats. If every community member educates themselves about recycling and effective waste disposal, this can reduce these risks. For instance, the United Arab Emirates is known for its pro-recycling environment, with color-coded bins everywhere to categorize waste according to its material. Not only that, but fines are strictly enforced for people who litter irresponsibly. This example illustrates the importance of government interference in setting laws and regulations. Another significant reason is that recycling can help sustain natural resources. To elaborate, this can be achieved by reducing consumption of natural resources and using what is already available. For example, many industries now manufacture bags and clothes from biodegradable materials. On the other hand, authorities in some cities, such as Abu Dhabi, charge customers for plastic bags. This forces them to buy biodegradable shopping bags, helping to mitigate the effects of overconsumption by encouraging recycling. Therefore, the government should enforce the use of sustainable products to reduce littering. In conclusion, policymakers play a crucial role in curbing the risks associated inadequate recycling, such as deforestation and pollution, setting rules and increase the awareness within the community.