Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Developing a hobby can make one’s life more enjoyable. Some people believe that hobbies need to be challenging to be interesting. Personally, I perceive that all types of hobbies can be fun not only the difficult ones, and I therefore disagree with the statement. On the one hand, enjoying an easy hobby can make happiness easy to be gained without paying effort or spending money on it. For instance, swimming is a sport which is relatively easy to learn and inexpensive to do which requires little equipment. I remember learning to swim happily at my local swimming pool when I was a child, and it never felt like a demanding or challenging experience. Another hobby that I find simple and fun is photography which anyone can take interesting pictures without knowing too much about the technicalities of operating an expensive camera. In this way, taking photos is a simple and satisfying activity for everyone interested in it. On the other hand, difficult hobbies are likely to create a sense of fulfilment. If an activity is challenging, we might feel a greater sense of satisfaction when we manage to do it successfully. For example, playing piano is a hobby that requires a lot of effort to learn which is a both time-consuming and costly hobby to do. In this case, it took me six years to become content with this activity, but now I enjoy it much more than I did when I started. As far as I am concerned, many hobbies give us more pleasure when we reach a higher level of performance and get increasingly skilful because the results are better and the feeling of achievement is greater. In conclusion, simple hobbies can be fun and relaxing, but difficult hobbies can be equally pleasurable for several reasons.