Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, some cities are applying vehicle-free campaigns to make private transport users such as automobiles, lorries and motorbikes drivers use their public transport systems. With them, it is intended to reduce pollution produced from these cities. By contrast, these schemes generate dependence on these public transport systems. In my opinion, the developed dependence is overwhelmed by the current pollution problem. On the one hand, during the first year of the COVID-19 pandemic, there were a series of restrictions that reduced the usage of personal vehicles worldwide, resulting in a significant pollution reduction, being evidenced concretely in larger cities. Ignoring the pandemic circumstances, these restrictions showed the possibility of using alternative mobility options, encouraging new restrictions in Madrid and Barcelona, that hardened their mobility restrictions. Consequently, 2021 was the less contaminating year in the last decade for the mentioned cities. On the other hand, restricting mobility towards a public transport scheme could not work for smaller cities with less public transport options. For example, in Murcia, public transport is less accurate and has limited disponibility, increasing traffic congestion over peak hours, reducing its functionality. Additionally, the mented campaigns are only contemplated on densely populated urban cores, ignoring towns and contriesides' necessities. To conclude, these campaigns are useful to reduce harmful ambiental factors such as pollution ones. Alternatively, it is not possible to apply them in every populated core, discriminating against them and forcing people to use public transport in an unproductive position. I think that even whit these problems, reducing pollution overweight their disadvantages, minding the necessity of being as ecological as possible.