Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people,however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

All nations aim at becoming more developed. However, it is a matter of debate on which area to focus. Some argue that economic improvement should be a country´s primary goal, whereas others claim that attention should be put on other fields, such as educational development. In my view, this type of growth is vital for the entire world, since this will eventually lead to growth in other areas, including the economy. To begin with, some people believe that economy should be the priority number one on any political agenda. If more money is entering the country, there will be a better quality of life for all the citizens, thus leading to an increased life expectancy. For example, Because of this, the country could experience an overall increase in happiness. On the other hand, when a country becomes more wealthy, it could mean that only a privileged sector is earning more, while the lower class is receiving less and less. For this reason, some people assume that cultural or educational progress is what the government should aim for. More education can result in less poverty and crime, and in the long term, it may attract investors. For example, by providing free tuition for primary and secondary school, more kids will enrol, and in the, future those graduates will land better-paid positions. As a supporter of free education, I strongly believe that the best path a nation can take is to turn its citizens into highly skilled professionals. For instance, this will result in the improvement of the entire region in terms of money, health and security. To conclude, although money runs the world, there are some who believe knowledge is as important as wealth. I support this notion since knowledge builds the foundation for the development of various aspects of life.