Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is said that countries are becoming similar to each other because of the global spread of the same products, which are now available for purchase almost anywhere. I strongly believe that such modern development is largely detrimental to the culture and traditions worldwide. A country's history, language,and ethos are all inextricably bound up in its manufactured artefacts. lf the relentless advance of international brands into every corner of the world continues, these bland packages might one day completely oust the traditional objects of a nation, which would be a loss of richness and diversity in the world, as well as the sad disappearance of the manifestations of a place's character. What would a Japanese tea ceremony be without its specially crafted teapot., or a Fijiankava ritual without its bowl made from a certain type of tree bark? Let us not forget either that traditional items, whether these be medicines, cosmetics, toys, clothes, utensils or food, provide employment for local people. The spread of multinational goods can often bring in its wake a loss of jobs, as people turn to buying the new brand, perhaps thinking it is more glamorous than the one they are used to. This eventually puts old-school craftspeople out of work. Finally, tourism numbers may aÍso be affected, as travellers become disillusioned with finding every place just the same as the one they visited previously. To see repeated objects in shops the world over is boring and does not impel visitors to open their wallets in the same way that trinkets or souvenirs unique to the particular area do. Some may argue that all people are entitled to have access to identical products but I say that local objects suit local conditions best and that faceless uniformity worldwide is an unwelcome and dreary prospect.