It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It has become a trend for students to prefer to have a one year break between high school and tertiary education. The advantages of this are firstly, It is considered as a chance for students to decide what career they will choose, and secondly, working in this year will give them the opportunity to save some money to continue their education. However, the drawbacks of this are losing the interest to continue studying, and may stuck in casual work their whole life. The first merit of this is to choose what subjects they will study. During high school, students are overwhelmed with their studying of different subjects and are not able to choose what kind of tertiary education they will study. As a result of this, it is a good opportunity to have a one year break to think about the career they would like to have. The second advantage is to gain some cash to cover some of their expenses during university studying. In other words, because university education is not free, students have to have some money to spend during this period. For instance, the majority of university degrees in Canada require quite a lot of money. On the other hand, losing interest in continuing education is one of the most important drawbacks. If high school graduates left education for a year, they might leave education for good. This means that they get used to work every day, which might lead them to prefer working instead of going back to school. Moreover, students may like their job and prefer not to leave it, which means that they would continue their lives and make a family with these minimum wages. For example, there was a study conducted at Queen's University that showed that most of the students who have taken a one year vacation have never gone back to school. In conclusion, the main merits of having a one year off after high school are choosing their career and saving some money for tertiary education. The disadvantages of this are staying this kind of low income job and do not like to go back for higher education