Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, modern and public transportation systems have been developed more advanced and convenient in many developed countries. Some people believe that governments should spend money on railways while others think that roads are also playing an important role in contemporary society and public transportation systems. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and give my opinion about why I consider that governments should spend their budgets on both rail lines and roads equally for several reasons.  On the one hand, it is generally accepted that railways have some benefits that roads can not compare to. That is, tracks may play a significant role in the public transportation systems. For example, trains can load more passengers and goods compared to automobiles or buses. To be more specific, the networks of railways can have more opportunities to boost economic growth in different places in both developing and developed nations. Because of the larger loading of passengers and goods, it can not be denied that railways may have lower opportunity costs to achieve higher efficiency and values in the contemporary and capitalistic society. On the other hand, it can be said that roads also have some advantages that tracks do not have. That is to say, different vehicles such as cars and buses can have higher mobility than trains. Although cars and buses can not load more goods or travellers than trains, they are still important because these vehicles can arrive at many places where railways are hard to reach. To further elaborate, travellers can reach many places by taking cars or buses with lower expenditures than trains. Besides, it can be suggested that freeways or highways can lessen the travelling time because there are no traffic lights on these freeways and highways. In conclusion, it can be asserted that both railways and roads are playing a critical role in modern society and the public transportation systems. Based on the above reasons, I believe that governments should spend on both railways and roads equally because of their different characteristics and functions.