Some old people today struggle with the use of modern techonologies such as smartphones and computers. What is the cause of this? What are some possible solutions?

Nowadays, technology were developed faster than previously and many older people have difficulty acclimating to it. The main cause of this is the novel nature of the computers and smartphones revolution, the best solutions involve education. The main problem of the elderly generation is hard to catch up or follow new technology because they do not gotten used to it and they have not grown up with it. Especially smartphones and computers which are fundamentally novel, they may have to spend a lot of time learning how to use them. For example, using a smartphone you have to know how to turn it on, be able to type, download applications, and set up an online account. For those born in the internet era, this is all second nature but for others, the learning curve is often too steep. It also has too many steps and is a little bit complicated regarding program location and an unfamiliar interface can be overwhelming and serves initial barrier. The best solutions for this relate to education even though it is hard for some older people but practicing is the best way. Moreover, motivation is quite important, if the younger generation of their family like grandson, grandaughter can teach them it would make the lesson more interesting. In conclusion, old people today did not get involved with technologies so they may feel difficult to start using them. And family is the most important key to teaching and practicing them then they can get the benefit of technology which missed out on them in their youth.