Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people generally believe that advertisements are conducive to providing information of a new arrival to the public; while others consider advertising to be a medium that motivates us to buy something we actually do not need. For me, I agree with the latter that I am going to explain my viewpoints in the following paragraphs. The benefits of advertisements have a great influence on human beings. They not only induce publicity to quickly gain the latest information about commodities, but also offer diversified options to us. For instance, if we yearn for sports equipment with which we can work out at home, such as treadmills, dumbbells, and so on, advertisements about sports are likely to play a crucial role in helping us to choose the suitable one to exercise and assisting us to decide which could not cost an arm and a leg. However, in my perspective, I think the advertising sometimes gives fake details of products to deceive us; therefore, I am opposed to completely viewing advertisements about new products as a useful reference to better our lives. On the other hand, some individuals put emphasis on the advertisements that motivate us to be in a vicious circle of overconsumption. Due to the fact that increasing numbers of people are in the pursuit of fashion, we usually do not truly realize the difference of whether the goods are useful or not. Take me for example, as soon as several advertisements with information regarding mobile phones are shown on websites, I am usually impulsive to replace my outdated cell phone with a brand-new one. Hence, I agree with the idea that advertising has a negative impact on our lives that we probably purchase something impractical. The effects of advertisements are double-edged. Although they are beneficial to improving our lives, they stimulate us to overspend on anything. All in all, I firmly think that advertisements about new products glutted with our lives encourage us to buy something we do not need in fact.