In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. does this development has more advantages or more disadvantages?

In this contemporary epoch, online payments are becoming expeditiously popular, and this is largely due to their convenience over the traditional payment methods. However, every new phenomenon in this world has both its merits and demerits, both of which need to be thoroughly discussed before being implemented. Personally, I consider this advancement, to large extent, to be a positive one. Hence, this essay will be demonstrating the underlying factors of this contention as well as my intuition. On the one hand, conventional payment techniques remain the backbone of many transactions around the globe despite this new technology. To illustrate, when business owners and sellers are asked which payment tool they prefer, most of them demand their customers to pay using cash as they trust it more. This can be exemplified by the country of Germany, where many monetary interactions across the nation are still being done using banknotes and physical money even with the tremendous technological advancements. Hence, it can be said that even though the cashless paying technique is more convenient it is not a reliable way of doing business because not everyone accepts it. On the other hand, using online payment methods such as Apple Pay has provided consumers with extra options. In other words, if a person wants to make a transaction, he can use one of these internet-based money transferring techniques such as Google Pay or Samsung Pay as well as the old-fashioned technique of using a credit card. All of which give the customers, who prefer not to keep cash on hand, the chance to utilize them. As a matter of fact, according to an article that has been published in The Economist magazine, the largest proportion of funds sending and receiving actions are being made cashelss using the SWIFT system. This, in addition to the security, speed, reliabilty and the ability to track any transaction using all-time records, has made online money transferring unquestionably superior. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the abovementioned points, it can be reiterated that despite the current resistance from some parts of the population towards using mobile gadgets as the main method to make payments, it is only a matter of time until it becomes the dominating technique in this regard, and I am a staunch believer of that.