It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It has become a trend for children to prefer taking a year-long break between high school and tertiary education. This essay will discuss some of the benefits and drawbacks for students in the following paragraphs. The first merit would be the student would get a chance to choose a subject of interest. During high school, kids are overwhelmed with different subjects and may not be able to choose what kind of college program to pursue. The second gain of taking time off is to make some cash to cover some of their expenses during their university stay. In other words, because university education is not free, students may need to have some money to spend during this period. For instance, the majority of university degrees in Canada require quite a lot of money running to several thousand. Thus, this can result in creating a good opportunity for individuals to gain insight into their interests and make some capital. On the other hand, losing interest in continuing education after a halt is a drawback that cannot be overlooked. If high school graduates leave education for a year, they might quit education for good. This means that they get used to working every day, which might lead them to prefer working instead of going back to school. Moreover, they get comfortable and may not prefer to leave it, which means that they would continue their lives and make a family with these minimum wages. For example, there was a research conducted at Queen's University that showed that most of the high school learners who have taken a one year vacation have never gone back to school. In conclusion, there are advantages of taking one year off is popular after high school to select the appropriate stream to follow and save funds. While the demerits of it may result in living an average life and experiencing hardships without a university education.