With the improvements in today’s health care, society has to care for more and more elderly people. Do you feel that society will be able to cope with the increase in numbers of elderly people today and how can it be managed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The ageing population is a big issue in some countries, especially in developed countries. Despite the development in the healthcare sector, I think it is hard for them to deal with this problem. This essay will outline some reasons and some solutions that need to apply to address it as well. On the one hand, a creasing number of older people in a society can cause a burden on the community. The elderly require more medications and hospitalizations in everyday life because their health state often gets worse. For example, the need for health care in older groups is always higher than the younger ones. Moreover, labour force shortages in an ageing society are the result of this. This leads to a shrinking in social production and has many negative impacts in return. On the other hand, to tackle this issue, there are many solutions. One solution is that the government needs to encourage and reward the group of people who participate in more social activities to reduce the risks of diseases. For instance, my local authorities organise many clubs for the older people. Thus, this not only helps boost their active mode but also helps them feel they are useful in society. Another solution is that government should spend more budget for the caregiving sector that supports building more facilities for the older ones. As a result, this would meet the demand of emergency when patients need it. In conclusion, there are many improvements in helping and treating the increasing elderly in our society. Although the government has more attention to areas with a fast pace of increase, I still feel that we just could solve the problem partially.