it is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

How much freedom a child should have and what sort of punishment could be used to control them is a matter of great concern. Undeniably, too much liberation and lack of control often lead youngsters to go astray while too much punishment makes them dull and less mentally healthy. I believe that punishment is meant to help children learn lessons, so that is why light penalties are beneficial. First and foremost, punishment is an effective way to explain to children's consequences of their actions. If the child is naughty and does not obey his parents, parents can use various kinds of punishment for their offspring's disobedience. For example, for younger children, parents can limit their screen time on gadgets. If the child is a scholar, parents may leave him without pocket money. Additionally, sometimes children are reckless about their school life, especially homework. In such cases, teachers may encourage pupils by giving feedback, motivating them to do their best instead of scolding kids for not doing homework, destroying the desire to study further. Moreover, a severe punishment by a teacher or parents could psychologically damage a child and the teachers and parents should always be careful about their way of punishment. For instance,social learning theory which was established by Bandura in1969 also suggests that physical punishment enables children to learn aggressive behaviour through modelling. If parents try to modify their children ’s behaviour through inflicting pain, then those children are likely to do the same to others when they want to influence other people’s actions. The adults should keep in mind that the initial purpose of the punishment is to teach the child a lesson not to hurt him physically. In conclusion, children should be punished if they misbehave because this lets them know bad behaviour brings consequences. However, it is crucial to take care not to hurt their feelings, only mild punishments are allowed to help them learn to tell right from wrong.