Some old customs and traditions are not useful presently, so should be given up. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reason and explain them with examples from your own experience or knowledge.

No doubt, the world is changing at a rapid pace, and it is often witnessed that many traditional values and customs have no practicability in the present time; hence, there is no need to continue such practices. I completely withstand this viewpoint. This essay shall delve into details and present my opinion. To begin, it is reasonable to expect people to discontinue practicing old traditions as it is nothing more than a waste of energy and time. The fact is that, with the advent of technology, the use of machines has grown exponentially. Many jobs that used to be done manually in earlier times are being done with machines. For instance, it was a common tradition in my country for girls to learn the skill of stitching and knitting to be able to stitch traditional clothes for family members. However, today, the majority prefer wearing ready-to-wear and fashionable western clothes than the conventional attires due to globalization. Understandably, there is nothing wrong in discontinuing this old tradition. In addition, with time, the role of genders and family members has changed. Earlier, women were supposed to do domestic chores and were not given the opportunity to attain education. However, today, it is a daunting task to manage family expenses with one income; therefore, the woman has to go out for work, and in turn, the man has to assist her in managing the household. Admittedly, the old customs do not hold ground anymore. To conclude, I would like to restate that every tradition has it own value, but, it fades with time and often become obsolete with time. Thereby, there is nothing wrong in discontinuing the ones that do not withstand the changing time.