Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

It has been universally acknowledged that the problem of overcrowding in metropolitan cities is escalating at an alarming rate in the current scenario. This has been creating a number of issues such as pollution and limited resources. The following paragraphs would elucidate possible reasons for the issue and propose a handful of remedial measures. Commencing with the causes which are responsible for its growth. Firstly, due to the large number of people living in the cities, usage of transportation has increased then more fuel burning has happened. Hence, the air becomes polluted and society will suffer from diseases such as respiratory conditions. Generally, many states have undergone this, for instance, in Delhi, the percentage of air pollution increased day by day due to overcrowding and large usage of vehicles. The second contributing factor is resources becoming limited, mainly water and electricity. Furthermore, this is a common problem in some places around the world. In order to solve these serious issues, some measures can be taken. Firstly, the government should build cities according to the rising population and take proper measures how to reduce pollution as well. Furthermore, people must use public transport or carpools instead of using their own vehicles in order to reduce smog in the environment. In addition to this, authorities could encourage people to limit the utilising or misuse of resources and create awareness on how to overcome these situations. To recapitulate, I would like to state that both the government and individuals should put their best foot forward together in order to curb the menace.