Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether to have school children be given assignments by their teachers or not. In this essay, I am going to examine such questions from both points of view and then explain why I believe homework helps in a child's development. There are people who argue that the benefits of giving assignments outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing the aforementioned is that homework aids in enhancing a minor's knowledge. It is possible to say that what they have been given is a follow-up lesson thus adding more information from what they have previously learned. Also, having assignments can be a bonding time for a youth and his or her parent. They can answer the modules together and parents will know more about the personality of their offspring based on the way they behave while they are studying. One good illustration of such is when offspring are answering and become irritable when they do not know the answer consequently showing parents how their child handles stress. On the other hand, others believe that school drills will hinder and decrease the time children can help with chores at home. It is often debatable that children should not do any schoolwork when home since they have already spent the whole time learning in school. Some parents have the indicated opinion because they are relying on their older offspring to help at home especially when they have younger siblings. A second point is that pressure from schoolwork adds stress to both child and parent. A particularly good example is when children are having advanced lessons that even their parents do not have an idea how to deal with it. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that giving homework does more good than harm.