Some people think that the main purpose of education is to make individuals useful to society while others say education helps them to achieve personal ambitions. Discuss both views and give opinion?

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether a degree is for a person's own interest rather than being an asset to a community. In this essay, I am going to examine the aforementioned question from both points of view and then explain why I believe that the main focus of one's educational attainment is for own advantage. To start with, there are people who believe that an individual's success means society's success as well. Particularly, if a native of a town becomes the top student in his or her tertiary education, they are convinced that he or she will serve in their hometown. To elaborate more, if a student of an economics graduate excels, his or her state has the confidence that he or she will apply what he or she has learned in school for his hometown to be successful thus limiting the person's area in applying one's knowledge. Also confining one's tips and strategies on how to make their neighbourhood's economic platforms a success. Another point is that others think people become successful due to their personal dreams and aspirations. Specifically, a student study hard to excel so that he or she can go to other countries to have more opportunities that his or her state failed to provide. One good illustration is when an Asian nurse prefers to work in a European country since her own nation does not pay as high as what the EU country put on her plate. In conclusion, I firmly believe both views have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that having a good education is what you aim for yourself. This is because you want the best for yourself and it only goes to show that personal interest first before anything else.