In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A lot of people everywhere in the world struggle with their health because they consume too many unhealthy meals. The government believes that maybe it is good to increase the taxes on those unhealthy meals to protect its citizens from their impact. I totally agree with this statement and I will try to explain in my essay why I think so.  On the one hand, fast food brings people into a lot of difficult situations with their health (fat, diabetes, heart disease, etc.). People lose interest in cooking healthy meals themselves. What I mean by that, is by consuming fast food all the time people become fat and get diabetes and heart problems. Because the products are everywhere and the products are cheap, citizens lose interest in cooking a healthy meal themselves. For instance, my uncle weighs 200 kilos because he never cooks himself a healthy meal and always is buying fast food because that is cheap. However, I ask him what would happen if fast food were more expensive, and he answers he would not buy those anymore. That is why I believe that through a bigger tax on fast food our society will eventually reconsider buying it and the tax will be a motivation to start cooking. On the other hand, through a high tax on fast food, the companies eventually will begin to produce their products with more healthy ingredients. For example, a company produces a finished hamburger that will be used by a fast- food restaurant with a lot of chemistry, and cheaper unhealthy ingredients, and it will probably taste terrible. Thus, increasing the taxes for those unhealthy meals can persuade companies to create healthier products.  To conclude, I, believe that unhealthy cuisine makes society sick and fat but with higher taxes on those products people will stop buying fast food because it would be too expensive, and this would encourage companies to create healthier products for their customers.