Some people say that technologies such as mobile phones are disrupting social interaction. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Undoubtedly, mobile phones have become a necessity rather than a luxury. Certain sections of society believe that modern technologies like cell phones are having a detrimental impact on their users by dramatically affecting their social life. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this notion because of the following reasons mentioned in the forthcoming paragraphs supported with examples. Firstly, these technologies are extremely addictive, which not only prevents their users from losing self-confidence, but also affects their overall mental health. To explain more about this, people generally use cellphone for most of the time, while using these technologies they are soo engrossed that they are mentally detached from the external world. In addition, extensive use can eventually cause mental disorders like depression and social anxiety. For example, a recent survey conducted by the medical school of London, considered a sample of 100 people, where 90 of them were given a task to use Instagram (a social media app), while others were asked to read books. It was found that these 90 folks were more reticent to the public when asked questions about general life, on the other hand remaining were more cooperative with people when they were interviewed with the same questions. Secondly, people are preferring more virtual friends as compared to real humans. To begin with, nowadays Facebook is a quite popular app, and people often connect with others using this application. Users have a proclivity to connect and chat with people whom they have never met in their life. Moreover, in some,countries people compete with each other to have more friends on these social media applications. As a consequence, people are estranged from the world where they reside causing a bonding gap with the physical world. For example,in a recent survey carried out by a group of psychologists in India, on average, people in India have approximately 500 friends on Facebook, out of which they personally know only 50. Furthermore, it was found that these individuals seldom meet new people on several occasions and prefer a more isolated lifestyle. To conclude, these advanced technologies have not only damaged humans' social interaction abilities, but also it is causing them to be estranged from society, thereby inviting several mental problems.