Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

Despite the availability of several ways to gauge students ' ability and understanding, some people think formal examinations, rather than continuous term assessment, are most effective. I absolutely disagree, because it is not a comprehensive judge of learning and understanding. I would be analysing how formal exams focus on the learners' ability to remember rather than understand, and how it is unfair to students who cannot cope with the pressure. Firstly, I think that this type of test mostly benefits students who can easily remember all they have read or heard, whereas, adding other assessments like team projects or class discussions allows the learner to develop ideas based on their understanding. For instance, teachers have been known to agree that the long essays in exams highlight remembrance rather than understanding. Sadly, only remembering what was taught does not translate to being able to apply such skills in real-life scenarios. Secondly, these types of assessments do not benefit individuals with disability. For example, a classroom of students would include some with autism, dyslexia, attention deficit disorder, and anxiety. These students cannot cope with the pressure of timed constraints surrounding written tests and would easily fail, but when given the opportunity to participate in less stringent class tests, they are usually able to do well. Thus, it highlights a problem, because their performance is not properly assessed. In conclusion, utilising only written exams does not give a comprehensive insight into a pupil's understanding of lessons, and it also sidelines those who have a disability. Rather, I would recommend that other forms of assessment, such as projects, presentations and even discussions, should be incorporated because this would help identify each student's strengths and score them accordingly.