Nowdays people waste alot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food ? what can be done to reduce the amout of food they throw away ?.

Nowadays, there has been a considerable rise in people's amount of thrown food. For me, this could be the result of the social status overall improvement, particularly in developed countries. The sensibilization of citizens to rationally buy food in order to limit its waste can tackle this problem. Firstly, people's status knew a significant thrive compared to the past; the livelihood of most householders is more than enough to live comfortably and afford to over-buy food whenever and wherever they feel like, resulting in a considerable rise of wasted food. For instance, employees tend to go or order lunch from a restaurant even if they don't feel like eating just because the tradition says that you should buy a meal during the lunchbreaks; another example is that of family gathering, where the members of the family bring various and countless types of eats that usually ends up in the trash. This issue directly affects the nation's economy since the government spends money to provide that alimentation for people. Therefore, we should as individuals take responsibility and start managing our purchases correctly. Secondly, the government should fund sensibilization campaigns in order to draw people's attention not to waste food and try to gain their empathy. In other words, these campaigns should aim to benefit from peoples' compassion and show that in some parts of the world, there is massive starvation leading to death while food is being wasted, and they should also enlighten the general public that they are threatened as well with the growing global population. For instance, if a parent knows that his future grandchild would be at risk of starvation, he will reduce his unnecessary food purchase. Consequently, the society would work along with the government to try and solve this new trend culture. In conclusion, unless efforts are made to tackle food waste, this problem will only escalate. It's a shared responsibility between the government and the individuals to cooperate and contribute to limiting this issue.