Some people think that governments should invest more in public services instead of wasting money on arts such as music and paintings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people are of the view that authorities need to prioritise public services rather than allocating resources to arts like music and painting. I believe that art is essential to highlight culture and heritage. On the one hand, public services, namely infrastructure, education, and health, are essential to any society. First, infrastructure like roads enables access to markets. In this way, goods can be transported easily. Next, education makes it possible to get knowledge and provides state-of-the- art goods and services. Then, better health care facilities play an inevitable role in the overall health of the public. For instance, Pakistan in the 2024-25 annual budget allocated 30 billion dollars for road infrastructure to connect remote areas to main markets. In this way, thousands of jobs are expected for people living in remote areas, which will improve the economic conditions for underprivileged class. Hence, undoubtedly public service spending is crucial for uplifting society. On the other hand, the art is way more important for the following reasons. First, it is a source of sharing culture and heritage worldwide. For instance, the art gallery at Lahore Fort, provides information about the Mughal Era. Second, art is a great recreational activity. People in their lives prefer different art forms to entertain them, which helps them to curb stress, anxiety, and depression. In India and Pakistan, The Great Kapil Sharma Show has a huge fan following because of its comic content. In conclusion, although public services are inevitable for the growth of society, art must not be overlooked. Art depicts the cultural heritage and amuses the general public at large.