In many countries, plastic shopping bags are the main source of rubbish. They cause water and land pollution, and so they should be banned. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

So many countries nowadays use recyclable shopping bags like paper or cloth, this has reduced pollution caused by plastics. A lot of nations, however, are reluctant to adopt these means despite the detrimental effects of plastic shopping packs on nature. I agree that a ban should be placed on them.  The increasing incidence of water-borne diseases like cholera, typhoid, and dermatitis to name a few are the first and foremost reason why plastic bag use has to stop as they are guilty of polluting water. Additionally, water is a habitat of over 3,500 species of sea bodies, and pollution of rivers and seas is dangerous to their survival and also causes them to lose their homes. Besides contaminated water is unsafe to drink or swim in which makes life more difficult for developing regions and deprives humans of an enjoyable recreational activity. Furthermore, due to the non-reusable nature of plastic bags, it makes up about 35% of a nation's refuse. It litters land, harbours dirt and breeds different kinds of diseases, for instance, tetanus, anthrax and botulism all thrive in dirty environments. Moreover, plastic wastes are usually disposed of recklessly which blocks drainages and causes a flood. This is true in Nigeria, a country that records at least 3 floods in a year. Because of this, people have lost properties, businesses and even loved ones. In conclusion, the effects of plastics on earth are intolerable and require an urgent response from the government. Since there are safer and biodegradable options, their use should be banned.