Some people believe that companies should be allowed to collect data about customers freely, while others believe this practice should be restricted. Discuss both sides of this issue.

Undoubtedly, advertisements play a crucial role for various industries in promoting their sales. In accordance with this, few demographics of society feel that companies should be permitted to gather data from their customers without any restrictions, while others feel there should be some limitations implemented. This essay articulates both sides of the argument in the forthcoming paragraphs On one hand, the collection of data allows companies to improve their products by analyzing the reviews and recommendations customers make while using their products. In addition, with the help of modern technologies like artificial intelligence and machine learning, these businesses can divide their sales into specific regions, thereby the desired products or services can be easily accessed by their customers. Moreover, this allows strong interaction with their customers, eventually instilling a better trust, since they have a feeling that these companies understand the product requirements. For example, in my experience, I feel more comfortable with companies, that understand my requirements and further provide a better version of these products as per my requirement. On the other hand, these companies often use adverts, google ads, and other search engine marketing techniques. However, using these technologies may disrupt the privacy of customers. To explain more about this, people who use the internet often experience several ads or surveys these companies provide by specifically targeting certain demographics of the society, although these surveys are used for collecting data, they may exasperate individuals since they are diverted from their main work. Eventually, causing these individuals to think that they are being spied on by these companies leads to privacy violations. For example, a recent survey conducted by Google in the year 2020 proved that there was a decrease in 50% network traffic to amazon, because of the increase in advertisements provided to their huge customers across different countries. To conclude, data collection from customers is an activity carried out by the companies to improve their services, to provide better products to customers. However, these may negatively affect certain customers ' personal space.