In many countries, online shopping is becoming more and more popular. Some people think that this is having a negative impact on society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The popularity of online shopping is increasing all around the world. To some, this trend is affecting society in a negative way, but I feel that the positive effect is greater than the negative. It is understandable that some people feel online shopping is detrimental to society because it is destroying town centres and people ’s jobs. Bookshops on many high streets in the UK, for example, have closed as people buy books online. Purchases of music and films on the internet have had a similar effect, leading to empty shops in high streets and the loss of local jobs. The same situation is prevalent in other countries around the world. I personally feel, however, that shopping online has an important role to play in modern life. Such shopping is not only convenient for shoppers, but it also creates jobs as internet businesses need to employ people. Further, over time the empty high street shops are gradually being replaced with other shops, which has always been the case. So, the impact on employment is probably, on balance, positive. Another reason why online shopping is beneficial is the freedom it gives to people to do shopping at any time. This then provides people with time to do other activities such as sports or going out with the family. Moreover, it allows older people or housebound people of any age the opportunity to purchase goods, which they might not have the opportunity to do otherwise. In conclusion, as with all new developments there are always going to be negative consequences but overall I think the impact of online shopping is positive.