The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. Do you agree or disagree?

Scientific evolution propitiated the development of relevant nuclear applications, such as weapons and power generation, which allegedly may sustain world peace and provide low-cost energy. While a faction declares that the benefits related to nuclear technology outweigh their drawbacks, I totally disagree with this point of view, since the risks of misuse of these developments may result in severe impacts on Earth. On the one hand, despite requiring higher initial investment and operational costs, electricity generation through nuclear fission causes less environmental impact than fossil fuel power plants. In contrast with greenhouse gases formed during carbon-based fuel combustion, pollutant gas emissions are in residual amounts in nuclear facilities. Furthermore, radioactive waste management is under restrictive regulations, assuring its adequate disposal in developed countries. For instance, France’s energy matrix is highly dependent on nuclear technology, and, even after long years of operation, its impact on their natural resources is minimal. On the other hand, the threat of nuclear weapons may mislead the false idea that this kind of armament induces peace among nations. In fact, the storage of these weapons puts the world on a constant alert, considering their massive destructive potential. As a result, it demands frequent monitoring from multilateral organisms, such as the United Nations, to guarantee that they will not be used in case of conflicts. This is the case of Iran and North Korea, which are subjects of the UN’s inspections during the last years. To summarize, despite the benefits of nuclear energy, like power generation, I totally disagree with the statement that those benefits outweigh their disadvantages, because of the potential damage that radioactive armament can bring to humanity and to the environment.