In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

It has been observed these days, that in most nations, crime novels and TV shows are becoming increasingly popular. I think the reason is, that it is a mass entertainment genre, and in my view, it should be regulated such that it does not impact society. There are many reasons for the popularity of crime books and TV soaps. Firstly, it has been one of the fascinating categories for a long time, and among all the age groups. For example, the famous crime thriller book - Sherlock Holmes, has been a favourite among children. Also, many of these books are even produced as movies and thriller series. For instance, the movie, 'Death on the Nile' is based on Agatha Christie's novel. Next, it creates a gripping spell on the audience and brings them to the edge. Moreover, the audience goes for the adrenaline rush and thrilling experience. Finally, it generates a sense of happiness and satisfaction, with the good winning over the evil, endings. Moreover, these crime fictions impact the mental health of the public. People are becoming less empathetic and sensitive to the sufferings of others. For instance, housewives and young children at home, who watch shows like Crime Patrol, think that these are quite common happenings, which in reality is not the case. The government and public should come together and put in adequate measures to curb these, there should be stricter laws and certification rules around this one. Parents should consciously limit the time spent reading and watching those. To conclude, though the crime books and shows promote a negative mindset in public, to limit this, the government and members of the public should help each other and foster a positive, healthy living standard and environment.