In the future, people may have to live on other planets. Some think that is therefore important to spend money researching other planets such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the future, we may have to settle on a new planet. It is therefore argued that we should invest money now in exploring planets that could provide us with a viable alternative to living on Earth. I completely agree with this opinion because without this investment, we may cease to exist. Besides, it would take a tremendous amount of time to colonize an alien world. We would become extinct if we don’t search for a second Earth. With urbanization and the increasing demand for housing, there would not be enough farmland left to grow crops to feed the rapidly growing population on Earth. As a result, we need to invest in exploring other bodies in the solar system to see if they have the climate and resources to grow food. Otherwise, we may face starvation which could lead to our extinction. In addition, it would take a long time to establish a colony on another planet. This is because it is extremely difficult to detect life-supporting resources there, such as water and oxygen. For example, despite more than a decade of research, not until last year did NASA scientists find solid evidence that there is liquid water on Mars. Therefore, if we don’t spend money exploring other planets now, we will not have a home ready to settle in when Earth is no longer livable. In conclusion, we should spend money now on planetary exploration. For one thing, this enables us to continue to exist. For another, the colonization of another planet in the solar system cannot be achieved in a short period of time.