Some people say that now we can see films on our phones or tablets, and there is no need to go to the cinema. Others say that to be fully enjoyed, films need to be seen in a cinema. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Technology has revolutionised the way people watch movies these days. With technological advancements such as tablets, smartphones and the internet, people can watch films from anywhere and anytime. Some population believe that this is a substitute for going to the cinema. This essay will discuss both views. In my opinion, movie theatres deliver an unparalleled experience as some of the films can only be enjoyed on big screens. On one hand, the advent of smart devices has put the cinema business future at stake as it has redefined how cinema-watchers can watch a movie. Recently, people have been spoilt for the choice to watch a movie as there are plenty of handheld smart devices to choose from where they can watch their favourite movies and shows at their own convenience. For example, these days mobile applications such as Netflix, Prime, and Disney provide users access to millions of contents to choose from at an affordable price, including those that are not shown in cinemas. This has given people a good reason to watch movies using these smart devices at home with family. Furthermore, it would be costly and inconvenient if people had to watch the movies at cinemas. On the other hand, theatres can give an unmatched experience that viewers cannot get while watching movies from hand-held devices. For example, theatres have a perfect ambience for watching a movie with a large screen, excellent surrounding sound system and relaxing reclining seats. In addition, there is a socialisation aspect to it as theatres these days are within the shopping centres which makes the whole experience catching up with family and friends over a coffee or dinner and then go watch a cinema together. In conclusion, despite the convenience the smart devices provide to cinema-watchers, I strongly believe that theatres remain an important option, especially for cinema-goers, who prefer experience over convenience.