Some people have declded to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flylng altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses?

Nowadays, climate change is one of the biggest issues on earth, and aeroplanes contribute to it. Some people think that the number of flights must be reduced due to environmental reasons. I believe that it is not a good solution because a huge part of the population needs to fly for work, and aeroplanes are not the main cause of climate change. Since the world has experienced strong globalisation in recent decades, many people have to fly each week in order to attend their jobs. Sometimes, individuals do not have the opportunity to work in their country or their city due to different situations. This is why the aeroplane is their only way to go to their working place, and by reducing their flights, they could lose their jobs. For example, a survey made by the famous YouTuber Rodrigo Núñez states that 50% of the Canarian population catches a flight each week in order to get to their job. Furthermore, planes are not the principal cause of environmental issues. Other transports such as cars, trains or motorbikes contribute to climate change as well. In addition, the plane's fuel is made by eco sources, which means that they do not pollute that much. For instance, a study carried out by the University of Texas at Austin states that aeroplanes represent 6% of the pollution generated on a day, while cars and trains represent 35%. To conclude, I strongly believe that environmental benefits do not outweigh individual or business disadvantages because lots of people need these flights to work and planes are not even a big pollution.