Many people now use written language in a less formal and more relaxed way than in the past. Why is this the case? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Written language has changed little by little over the decades. In the past, they had been written in a more formal form compared to what we find today. I believe that social media plays a key role that leading to this change, and the drawbacks are decided to outweigh the benefits which will be discussed in this essay. Written letters, emails, or texts have been used for at least a century to provide a convenient communication between people, officially and personally. The language they utilise depends on the person they aim to send the information to. Because technologies had been developed till social media was originated, a variety of languages is easily discovered and slightly adapted by younger generations. For instance, the language used for texting within a group of teenagers will be informal, more relaxed, and adapted to another word which can be seen as a signature of that group because merely group members know how to involve those words in communication. Most officially written languages will be implemented when work is related. Adolescents these days, who never learnt how to write in a formal form, have more chances of lacking appropriate consideration of selecting official languages when required. This is evidenced that the utilisation of a resilient language for a period of time will prohibit them from the ability to write a quality language. The human resource team in my office, for example, received an email from a trainee with inappropriate language and a few misspelling words. Judgements towards the person were made by the way she wrote the email which was considered to be an official letter, contrarily. Overall, informal and flexible language can be witnessed in written media recently because they have been adapted from time to time and adopted by young generations. The disadvantages of not knowing how to use them wisely outweigh what relaxed languages provide to societies.