Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

It is true that people rely on more and more imported food products, and I completely agree that eating food produced by local farms is much better than consuming those from far away. There are a variety of reasons for this, and I will discuss both advantages and disadvantages in this essay. There are some disadvantages if people must eating eat only local food. Firstly, if people are living in a small area which has almost no farming land, the citizens there might have no other choice than eating food from other places. For example, Japan which owns a small land but a large population is greatly dependent on importing food from other countries in order to satisfy the market's needs. In another case, if people are limited to buy only food from the local and the local agriculture industry cannot produce every kind of food to fulfil the balanced nutrition requirement for health, it will impact the development of people's growth especially children's. On the other hand, there are more advantages if people buy more local food. Firstly, it could reduce the transportation of imported food which reduces the impacts on climate changes on the Earth and in the meantime which reduces the cost of transportation so people can save their cost of living by buying cheaper food. Secondly, since local food is faster to be delivered to the market, it is generally fresher than food with long-term transportation. Finally, the local food can be better regulated by the local law which means the quality of the local food could be higher than the imported one. In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of eating local food products outweigh its disadvantages because of reasons from both environmental wise and economic wise.