Some feel that cities should be designed to be beautiful while others feel their functionality is more important. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

While some people argue that a metropolis should appear attractive, others including myself, believe that the government should focus on facilities. In this essay, both sides will be discussed in detail by giving the reasons why the public funds should be spent on providing the functionalities to the citizens rather than on the beautification of a city. Many claims that the stunning looks of a town are economically beneficial for its government. To begin with, the nicer the city looks, the more tourists it will lure, and by doing so, the more funds it will earn. Travellers would not only enjoy holidays in that region but also spend money during their visits. For example, Chandigarh, which possesses famous parks and gardens, attracts millions of visitors every year, and most of them explore around and take pictures with flowers. Thus, the income of a state will rise to a great extent because of increased tourist footfall. Despite this, others including myself, ponder that the facilities present in a metropolis are of greater significance rather than its appearance. How can the residents, who pay high taxes, be delighted if there are no basic amenities such as clean air, potable water, public transport, health centres, etcetera? As these functionalities are required for day to day activities, they tend to make the life of citizens easy. For instance, Indore, one of the largest cities in India, provides a reliable public transportation system for the population, so less time is needed to commute by daily passengers. Consequently, they have spare time to spend with their family and friends making them more satisfied and happy in their life. In conclusion, although the remarkable appearance of a city financially benefits the government, I firmly believe that the life of residents should be made easy by providing the required facilities as they pay a lot of money in taxes.