NOWADAYS MANY PEOPLE CHOOSE TO BE SELF-EMPLOYED, RATHER THAN TO WORK FOR A COMPANY OR ORGANIZATION. WHY MIGHT THIS BE THE CASE? WHAT COULD BE THE DISADVANTAGES OF BEING SELF-EMPLOYED?

In this day and age, there are a considerable number of individuals who opt to run their own businesses. This trend could create certain benefits; however, some believe that the drawbacks need to be taken into consideration. In the essay below, I will dept deeply into some remarked points of both sides of this phenomenon. On the one hand, the option to be self-employed instead of working for a firm is beneficial in some aspects of life. One major advantage contributing to this trend is that individuals may enjoy a sense of freedom. In particular, those could be free from pressure and avoid snowing under with huge workload of supervisors into the bargain. Therefore, being their own boss may open up a wide range of opportunities to pursue their leisure in order to live their life to the fullest extent. On the other hand, there are some obvious downsides that would arise from this phenomenon. First and foremost, one of the remarkable disadvantages is that business owners could shoulder sole responsibility and be faced with dramatic changes alone. It can be explained by the fact that they act as all departments and have to cope with tight budgets and limited human resources. On top of that, another negative outcome is that they may confronted with the dark side of financial prospects in the long run. To be more specific, in the event of the worst scenario, business holders may end up being bankrupt and could be then deeply in debt. As a result, starting up a company would be an extreme decision and those owners need to readily be faced with constant pressure. To sum up, it is clear that the factors lead to this aforementioned trend and a variety of demerits, which pertained to sole responsibility and financial consequence. From my perspective, I firmly believe that individuals who wish to run their own business should have a well-prepared set of skills to reduce risk-taking and also be fully aware of positive and negative outcomes before making their own decisions.