Some parents believe that learning mathematics at school is redundant and should not be taught; others believe it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used later in life. Discuss both sides.

In recent times, teaching mathematics at school has become a debatable topic. Some parents support that learning this subject is a sheer waste of time, whereas others highlight its necessity. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in-depth, which will aid readers in arriving at a conclusion. A huge number of guardians claim that mathematics should be removed from the curriculum because it has become unimportant. They have reasons to believe that mathematics is no longer needed as a human skill as it is typically done by computers. For instance, everything from simple addition and subtraction to complex mathematical equations is now computer operations. Thus, these parents have good reason to consider mathematics is no longer a relevant subject in schools. In contrast to parents who wish to remove mathematics as a school subject are those who believe that it is a fundamental part of learning despite its usefulness. After all, mathematics provides people with a different conceptual way of viewing the world. For example, knowing how to add, subtract and divide, albeit calculations that can be done on the phone, are essential daily skills. For these reasons, there are many parents who ponder it should remain a part of the course. In conclusion, should mathematics be removed from a school’s syllabus? A number of parents think that it is outdated and therefore redundant; however, other parents disagree and argue that mathematics is still relevant and essential. This essay discussed the various underlying reasons why parents hold these points of view and whether mathematics should remain included in students’ school studies.