Some people think that the best way to run a business is within the family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of a family-run business?

Nowadays, many people dream of having their own businesses, while it is believed that running a family business is the best way to do so. This essay will highlight the pros and cons of family-run companies. Some may hold that starting a small enterprise within the family is the best way for it to succeed. In other words, family members would be equally invested in the work, and they would be motivated to give their all to make the business thrive. For instance, a family member would have a sense of responsibility while working and contribute intensely to the business expansion, unlike a strange employee who's likely more interested in his wage. Moreover, starting a new business can be stressful and needs a lot of self-confidence; thus, having family members around can be a confidence and productivity booster. The best example is the easiness a person feels with his family's support. Therefore, there are many good reasons why a person should run a business within the family. However, a family business has its detriments as well. The work conflicts can follow the person home if he is related to his partner and create problems that may take a long time to be resolved, which can cause the business to collapse. For instance, a wife can take personally work-related feedback coming from her husband, leading to a feeling of resentment affecting their relationship and the work. Furthermore, some employees would take the blood connexion for granted and break rules that ordinary personnel won't violate, such as absenting or being constantly late without any proper explanation. Consequently, there are multiple disadvantages that a person should not turn a blind eye to them. In conclusion, some people deem that the best way to run a business is to keep it in the family. Indeed there are multiple benefits why a person should opt for this, but it is also essential to not forget the drawbacks of running such businesses.