You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some people think that local forces ought to have access to mobile phone calls and chats of citizens to save them. But I believe that the history of what we do with our gadgets should be private because a person has rights and the data of a government can be hacked. Firstly, no one should be able to see an individual's phone call records for private reasons, in order to protect freedom of speech. In other words, if a person tells another that their local council is bad and makes poor decisions, he can't be persecuted for that. For instance, there are social networks, like Telegram, whose goal is to defend their users' privacy from not only hackers but also governments. Secondly, generally, it is easy to steal vital information from forces. If a government has a huge amount of data about every resident, hackers will try and eventually manage to hack them. Next, they will use this data to break into banks' and social media accounts because usually users send a lot of information about their passwords into chats of families or friends. Admittedly, a government will be able to stop criminals or terrorists using this information but nowadays it is hard to distinguish between simple black humour and real plans. So, police may end up arresting many common citizens. To conclude, while governments might be able to capture more dangerous people, they will also break one of the basics of human rights and it is a big risk to be hacked. Therefore, local forces mustn't be able to see a person's call records and chats.