B. Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

INTRO: Some professionals agree with the idea of teaching international language in primary schools rather than in secondary schools. This essay will argue that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. Firstly, children who learn non-native language at an early age show mastery of the language during and after secondary school, also they can engage in a multi-cultural world if they know another language aside from their native language. At some point, some says it has negative views such as, it will bring confusion to children about what language they are going to use, however, there have been no proven studies about it. PARAGRAPH 1: Students who are taught of foreign language at an early age are seen to have fluency later in school. They are not tied up to one language only rather they can be multi-linguistic. For instance, English is the most common used language in schools. Here in the Philippines, private schools use English as their primary language, thus, children from these schools can speak up better English than those public schools that does not require English as their primary language. A child who knows another language can also join in other multi-cultural events at school and they can be selected as representative. It can be another academic achievement for them. For example, schools have these nationwide quiz bees which includes international academic questions, children who speak fluently other languages are mostly preferred in this kind of activity. Some people are not agreeing up with these ideas, due to the fact that they believe it cause confusions to children about what language they are going to use. They are often confusing with their local language versus the external language being taught. However, there are no studies that prove to this statement. I can share an example of my niece, who was introduced to English language at a very early age. I can see today that she really excels in their classroom. She speaks more fluently than her classmates. In conclusion, the reality that early teaching of foreign language leads to mastery of it and adds up to someone’s cognitive ability, it clearly outweighs the issue that it causes confusions to children.