Bullying is a big problem in many schools. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Bullying is becoming a greater affair nowadays in many educational institutes which can lead to cognitive issues among children and youths. It can be addressed and minimized by taking strict punishment and educational awareness by school boards and communities. Firstly, the prime reason for this behaviour is that some children are negatively influenced by their surroundings. As children, in general, are quick learners, they adapt to their environment which includes parents, teachers and friends. If they are not brought up in an environment that is conducive to friendship, it can make them bully as they grow up. For instance, the younger ones who are raised by their parents who always fight at home, are more probable to behave in a similar way at school. Secondly, increased use of TVs, gadgets and social media is another culprit. As the younger generation is more occupied with watching television or playing video games individually, they are lacking social and emotional skills. Thus, their disability to understand others’ feelings and emotions lead to hurting each other quickly without a second thought. Furthermore, teenagers feel proud to be in a group and try to impress peers by making fun of others. This way of bullying can create many serious issues like depression and suicide of the people who are getting hurt. It can also result in ruining someone's life and career. However, this problem can be solved by taking necessary steps to raise awareness through schools, communities and social media. Educational boards, teachers, parents and mentors should discuss this concern to give it a serious thought to come up with means to address this issue. Also, teachers should talk to the individuals involved in this act and impose strict punishments by barring them from attendance if they repeat the mistake. Finally, victims of these incidents should be counselled in private and help them to stand up. To summarise, I acknowledge the seriousness of this issue and the peer pressure children feel at their tender age. However, this can be resolved by helping each other which can help youngsters to become better and more mature citizens.