Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

The way that we are using plastic packages nowadays strongly affects our planet. This essay will discuss the damages caused by the desmeasured use of plastic products, such as plastic bags and bottles, and will name a few solutions to this problem, like reducing the use of these and replacing it with less contaminant items. As we all know, plastic products are toxic for the environment. Since its creation in 1950, plastic has been used indiscriminately in all its forms by humans: bags, bottles, packages and a large etcetera. However, it was just a few years ago that our society started to be conscious about its damage. One of the events that shocked scientists and individuals all the same, were the millions of turtles that were found dead near the beach in Sydney, Australia. When the scientific community started to investigate the cause of this phenomenon, they found out that the water pollution, caused by plastic wrappers, was the main reason behind these animal’s death. Professionals from all over the world have been thinking of a solution for this increasing problem, and they all arrived at the same answer: we must stop using plastic items. Nevertheless, this is not that easy. Today’s society is based on consumption, so an alternative would be to reduce our plastic overuse. Some countries, like Norway, are implementing disposable bags that melt into water. Hence, when citizens arrive home with their purchase, they can disintegrate the bags and there is no contamination of natural resources. In conclusion, our earth’s resources are constantly affected by human actions, so we must think of alternative ways to reduce the impact of them. Hopefully, in the following years, new biodegradable materials will be invented, and we will finally be able to stop using plastic products.