Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other. while others think that people have become independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the ever-connected modern world, some people think that we are more dependent on each other, while others argue that we have spread our wings and become individualistic. I agree with the latter stance, and in the forthcoming paragraphs, I shall discuss points and reasons to support my view. There are several reasons for arguing that we are more dependent than ever on others. Firstly, life has become inherently difficult. With the high cost of living, young individuals depend on their parents or partners to fulfil basic needs like food, shelter, and education. Secondly, humans have become more ambitious. Hence, to compete better, they sometimes tend to depend on their parents to look after their kids, pets, and house. However, people have also become self-supporting in several senses. For example, in many countries, formerly-joint families have fragmented into numerous nuclear families and handle both personal and professional spaces like champions. Moreover, humans now utilise global connectivity to its optimal extent as they are seen studying in universities abroad, living in different countries and often travelling alone. Even more so, people have adapted to living and working alone. Furthermore, women have become financially independent and make their own decisions which prove that societies are gradually moving towards a more self-reliant stance. In conclusion, it is true that humans are still dependent on each other for the basic necessities and for maintaining connections with others since they are social animals. But, recent trends suggest that they as a species have become more self-sufficient than ever before, and I predict our independence will only gain prominence in the future.