more and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. describe some of the problems overreliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution

Cars as the Main Transportation in Big Cities Cars became the main transportation in the big city. Most people use the car for daily transport. However, the reliance on using cars contributes to some problems such as traffic as well as air pollution. Some actions need to be taken in order to tackle these problems. The increasing number of cars will exacerbate the traffic, especially in a big city with a high number of population. The traffic will be worse during the peak hours, like in the morning when people are getting to work or in the afternoon when people are going back home. Not only that, traffic will have a negative impact on the economy. For example, Jakarta is one of the cities in the world with the worst traffic. In Jakarta, people need to spend around 2 hours to commute 10 kilometres away. A study showed that Indonesia lost about IDR 2 billion per year because of the traffic. In addition, the use of private cars contributes to worse air pollution. It is because more cars will create more carbon monoxide that is released to the atmosphere. As a result, the air became unhealthy to breathe. In the long run, air pollution will affect the health condition. For instance, around 2 million people in Jakarta, a city with the highest rate of air pollution in Indonesia, are estimated to have respiratory problems due to the bad quality of air. In order to reduce the problems, the government should provide better public transportations that connect strategic locations such as office buildings, housing areas, schools, and other public facilities. Moreover, the government should promote the use of public transportations through some approaches. First, make sure that public transportations have an on-time schedule. Second, monitor the quality of the service in public transportations. Third, provide special lanes for public transportations like buses in order to cut the commute duration. In conclusion, the reliance on private transportation mode will raise some problems. The government should take serious actions and policies to mitigate the negative impacts.