Living in a Country Where You Have to Speak a Foreign Language Can Cause Serious Social Problems as Well as Practical Problems

Surviving in countries which are not people ’s original homelands normally requires them to speak a foreign language and this can lead to severe social problems. I completely agree with this statement since it can make people become more lonely and also increase the suicide rate. To begin with, people usually make a lot of mistakes when they do not totally understand the key messages of conversation or lectures. Especially, immigrants or international students who need to communicate in a language they are not familiar with will easily convey wrong content. This would make them be unaccepted among their co-worker or colleagues. In addition, this results in more feelings of loneliness. Another point that should be taken into consideration is the fact that un-native people have their own accents. They may be considered not to be part of that country by natives and bring about being bullied. That is to say, a lot of Asian high school students encounter accent bullying and it sometimes leads to physical assaults. As a result, some of them decide to commit suicide. It is reported that there is an increase in the suicide rate committed by Asian students in the united stated in 2016. In conclusion, it is argued that living in a country where people are required to speak foreign languages could lead to serious social problems. I totally agree with this because of the loneliness people feel and the increase in the suicide crime rate.