Maintenance of public libraries is a waste of money because of computer technologies that have the same function. To what extent you agree and disagree?

With the advent of technology, it has been quite argued that the maintenance of libraries is a wasteful expenditure and digital technologies provide the same facility. I completely disagree with this and think that it is necessary to keep continuing the support. Firstly, libraries foster a peaceful environment. It creates an ambience, where people can study uninterruptedly for a longer duration of time. For example, they have ground rules like no talking, and no listening to music and those rules promote a quieter aura. Moreover, it would always remain as a location, where a person can go to seek knowledge. This association of a physical location and ambience would be lost if it is not maintained. Next, school and council libraries, have created jobs like librarians, security guards, computer technicians and receptionists. If they are not going to exist, these jobs would be lost and this would impact the living of many and the economy as well. Finally, it bring people together and promote social networking among local people, which is real. Although computers, create social networking far and wide, that is not real and the risk of unknown and unseen is associated with it. For instance, the Facebook feature provides an option to network with friends of friends, whom, someone would not know personally. Hence, it is vital to have them for the benefit of society. In conclusion, although digital technologies facilitate virtual libraries, I strongly believe that, as a society, we should continue to support and run them, because of the multitude of benefits they bring to society.