In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this fast-paced world, there has been much discussion revolving around the issue of taking care of older people's financial responsibilities. Some people think it is completely related to families whereas others assert that the government has the main responsibility. In my humble opinion, I believe that both parties have respective duties to take care of ancestors. Firstly, since elderly people are the first relatives who have brought up the next generation, we have the privilege to pay back their gratitude. If the family members can live with them under the same roof, it would be the best option. Moreover, being relied on the government fund is impossible for a society in which a lot of workers pay the tax which can be used for other infrastructural developments such as education and transportation. Accordingly, their children should bear the cost as much as they can by reducing the burden on the nation. Likewise, the state also has the right to shoulder those responsibilities. As it is one of the country's fundamental improvements, they should put aside the money or allocate the fund for the betterment of the healthcare sector. If they could not afford to take all expenses, it could be acceptable to pay the salary of nurses and doctors who are working in elderly care centres. For example, in Canada, family members bear the rent cost and miscellaneous matters while the government shoulder the rest expenses. In conclusion, both the public and the country have equal duties in order to uplift the overall society. I passionately believe that this cooperation could achieve a better result not only for individuals but also for the community.