Some people think an international car-free day is an effective way to reduce air pollution. Others think there are more effective ways to do this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

It is often argued that a global day without using cars is a productive strategy to diminish air pollution. By contrast, some of them believe that exist several effective ways to do this. In my opinion, I believe that although having an international car-free day is an excellent plan to halt atmosphere contamination, other methods can be way better. On the other hand, 24 hours without car traffic can be a good method to prevent air contamination. Cars are one of the most contributors to this problem due to the consumption of fossil fuels. The more the use of fuels, the more the increase in pollution. For example, if we stopped all the cars for just one day, we would reduce Co2 emissions and pollution dramatically. However, a growing body of research suggests that focusing on other methods to stop pollution can be more impactful than the prohibition of car use. Firstly, we can change our cars to electric cars which can lead to no longer need of using fossil fuels. In addition, governments should invest more in public transport which would lead to a reduction of cars transiting and consequently cutting of pollution. For instance, in Germany, Air pollution was diminished due to the changes from ordinary cars to electric cars. In conclusion, while I acknowledge that one-day banning fossil fuels consumed by transport might be an efficient method, I would argue that investing in public transport and electric cars would be a better solution to solve this issue.