As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do you think the advantages of this trend for individuals outweibgh the disadvantages for the environment?

In some nations, there is a tendency that individuals to prefer to purchase a private car, and it’s become normal to drive their own car for commuting. It’s sometimes argued whether the growth of private car ownership is favourable or unfavourable to nature. In my opinion, I do support the latter point of view. Undeniably, that the development of technology and industrialization provides numerous conveniences and a great amount of improvement in efficiency both in individuals and the economy. Accordingly, the corresponding consequences are unignorable and the negative impacts should be considered. Firstly, the consumption of fossil fuels is increased dramatically in line with the use of personal vehicles, and resource exhaustion is foreseen in the near future. Secondly, the traffic jam became a hot topic in some metropolises due to more and more people preferring to drive their own car for work, actually it could result traffic burden along with the maintenance spending on infrastructures. Thirdly, people are concerned about the rising level of air pollution driven by private cars in use in most of the world's cities. In particular, the toxic erosion in the atmosphere leads to some health problems, and harm to plants and animals, the potential tremendous risk is uncountable. However, the behaviour of driving a personal vehicle is detrimental both economically and mentally. For example, per the 2022 talent trends and salary guide shared by Career International, it costs the youth almost three years of annual income to buy a private car, as it is unaffordable to a newly graduated university student and sometimes it’s just due to psychological comparison. In addition, the preference of keeping a private car for each adult in a family is a kind of resource-wasting, people should find alternative solutions for resource allocation and think carefully about how to deal with the disposal of automobiles but no damage to our planet. In conclusion, the rising trend of having a private car is a disadvantage for the environment, the government and individuals should take responsibility to lower the negative effects on our plants and species.