Governments should be responsible for promoting renewable energy sources, while others believe that individuals and private companies should play a larger role. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many believe governments around the world should increase their efforts to promote renewable energy usage to ensure wider adoption rates. While, others believe this decision should entirely be left to individual households. Some are of the opinion that, there is already an oversaturation of private companies that provide these services already and that government funding should be used elsewhere. This essay will consider both sides of the argument to reach an effective conclusion. Firstly, while there is an oversaturation of private companies providing renewable energy services like solar panels, wind turbines and hydroelectricity. The simple fact is, that most of these solutions are too expensive for the average household. This is why many governments around the world provide subsidies to each household when purchasing solar panels. This simple promotion tactic makes switching to renewable energy more economical for families. Conversely, households and small businesses account for only a small percentage of total carbon dioxide produced (Co2), the vast majority of CO2 is produced by large-scale manufacturing plants. Countries around the world should introduce a carbon tax. For example, a fine has to be imposed on each ton of CO2 emitted by these plants. The carbon tax or green tax will further incentivize large businesses to switch to renewable energy to offset larger tax rates. In summary, I believe individual households, small and large businesses as well as governments around the world have a key role to play in combating global warming. Governments should continue subsidizing renewable energy sources like solar and huge CO2 emitting companies should be heavily fined in the form of a carbon tax. Additionally, citizens around the world can vote for electoral candidates whose campaign promises include a more renewable and greener future.