Many people nowadays see a counselor or therapist to improve their mental health. Some feel, however, that this is unnecessary. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In the modern era, it is generally acknowledged that visiting a counselor or therapist is integral in order to enhance personal mental health. Opinions are divided over whether it is necessary or not. This essay will outline why they support each sides and suggest my opinion. On the one hand, as a significant number of people suffer from hectic schedules in contemporary society, they do not have enough time allocate to maintaining psychological health unless they have physical symptoms. The public tends to neglect their mental health since some minor mental issues have no signs in one’s body. Moreover, having a conversation with a counselor or healer is priceless as it is measured per time. For example, recent media in Korea reports that the average counseling fee per one hour is almost 100 dollars, and therefore many people give up taking counseling. As the example clearly illustrates, the expensive fee of maintaining mental health plays a key factor in giving up managing the psychological health. On the other hand, not only can minor mental problems bring about serious mental illnesses, but they my also contribute to burn-out syndrome, thereby leading to major physical health problems such as lethargy. A survey conducted by the Korea Nurse Institution has revealed that almost 70% of nurses have experienced burn-out syndrome as they do not have enough time to meet a counselor. Hence, people should admin their mental condition in order to prevent the serious symptom. Furthermore, an individual’s psychological instability affects families, friends and coworkers as well as the individual. For instance, if there is a one family member who has depression can spread negative mood among whole family members. Therefore, each person should manage his mood before he ruin everyone. In conclusion, while I accept that counseling fee can sometimes be expensive, I would say that people should check their mental condition often to prevent irreparable illnesses such as bipolar disorder or schizophrenia as once the illnesses occur, it is hard to maintain and it costs more money to treat them.