It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media-rich society

The globalization of media has become one of the ever-relying factors in our lives, especially when getting supported by the development of technology. The ease of full access to information and fast form of communication are counted as the main benefits, whereas the dependency of the platform and the lack of in-person interaction are suggested as the principal drawbacks. Weighing the beneficial perspective first, social media often plays a role in providing a source where people can search for all kinds of information instantly at the touch of a button. Subsequently, this advantage is the one that people in education, business, and other fields really hold onto because of how helpful it is to improve their productivity and work efficiency. In addition to that, the tool is frequently considered as one of the main solutions in decreasing the lack of global communication that might have been a problem in the earlier years. For example, the genocide that is currently happening in Gaza, Palestine would be hard to acknowledge by the people on the other side of the world if it was not for the fast-growing communication technology in social media. However, a portion of the public also believes that social media could develop a form of addiction in our society, especially young people, for the vast amount of entertainment the platform produced. Since the start of the 21st century, the role of social media in giving a handful of joy to children has been getting talked about a lot and it is becoming more of a problem these days. Moreover, this addiction could also affect the downfall of kids' motivation in having face-to-face interaction with others; therefore it is predicted that the issue could decrease the emotional intelligence of these juveniles. In some instances, teachers would admit that a big percentage of the pupils in school would prefer playing with their gadgets to having to interact with another child instead. In conclusion, it is true that the influence of social media has impacted our daily lives more than we can imagine. It is considered that it can not only bring some advantages, such as an accessible source of information as well as reliable communication but also some disadvantages, such as a form of digital addiction and an ever-decreasing of social interaction in our society. Consequently, the use of social media should really be held accountable by the public, regardless of their age, and it is their responsibility to not abuse this influential power to bring harm to every single person in the world.